Avoid Facebook Phishing Schemes

Over the past few months I have noticed a large increase in the number of Facebook accounts getting hacked or hijacked by hackers using Facebook phishing. In order to understand this, let's first take a quick look at why Myspace accounts have become such a target for cyber-terrorist.

Why are Facebook or myspace accounts being hacked?...

Fb now has over 500 Million users, and provides such incredible demographic information, that advertisers are now flocking to it for targeted advertising. The very same affiliate marketers that have previously resorted to spam email and blog comment spam to force their message out to the public, have now discovered that by hijacking Facebook trading accounts, they can deliver their marketing message to the friends and connections of those account holders. These "spammy" messages are more likely to be viewed, read, or even clicked on, because they are seemingly coming from a trusted source (the original account holder).

Exactly how are these Facebook addresses being hacked and hijacked?..

This is really just a new delivery method for an old phishing scheme. Scam happens when you enter your login credentials on a fake Facebook login page or download malicious software to your computer. This may result in communications or links being automatically sent to a large number of your friends. These types of messages or even links are often advertisements encouraging your friends to check out videos or perhaps products.

The hacker sets up a dummy Facebook profile and sends out hundreds of friend requests as well as waits for the requests to be accepted. Once some are accepted, they send out tricky information via Zynga chat or maybe by posting to the wall of their brand new Facebook friends. These announcements appear as an enticement such as...

"hey, what exactly are you doing in this video (click here).... how embarrassing... "

"this website has some sort of error and is giving away free iPads. Get there fast before you miss out (click here)... "

The above examples would include a link that goes to a page that appears to be a The facebook account sign in screen. The user assumes that they were logged out for some reason (which occasionally does occur) and re-enteres their Facebook itself username and password. What they don't realize is that the page did not belong to Facebook or twitter and they just gave their username and password to some hacker.

Once the hacker has collected the user's Facebook account qualifications, they simply log into the accounts, change the password and begin sending out advertisements with regard to affiliate programs, as well as more invitations to give up your own account info. This process continues to spread because people are simply not aware.

How to avoid getting your Facebook hacked...

See how to hack a Facebook account